TEACHERS APPRECIATION DAY

Today Pakistan celebrates Teachers Appreciation Day. I have these gentlemen and ladies to thank, for they took the chunks of ignorance off me.

The Headmaster Sahib. A primary school in Rawalpindi. 1981-1985.

Taught me early in my life that life is not going to be easy and at the end of the day what will count is my character.

Kacchi Waley Ustaad. A primary school in Rawalpindi. 1981-1985.

Thanks to him that even after 20 years, I remember my tables perfectly fine. He made us write Takhti regularly, it was a hassle then; today its the reason my handwriting is clean and legible.

Mr. Naeem Kanwar. F.G. High School, Marir Hassan, Rawalpindi. 1986-1990.

He made Biology become my most favorite subject in the world. He would explain difficult content in a language in which we thought. My first inspiration for becoming an idealist.

Mr. Zafar. F.G. High School, Marir Hassan, Rawalpindi. 1986-1990.

The only teacher in my school life who didn’t like to beat up students; to the most he would ask us to leave the class and that none of us liked because his Urdu class was the most relaxing of all.

Mr. Hafiz Khalil. F.G. High School, Marir Hassan, Rawalpindi. 1986-1990.

He taught us Mathematics and Islamic Studies. I learnt from him that whatever you believe in, whatever your ideas are; stick to them no matter who says what. “If you know for sure you are right, don’t listen to what people have to say.”

Mr. Zubair Qureshi. Govt. Gordon College, Rawalpindi. 1991-1995.

So subtly, he taught me to improve on my Urdu accent. He is by far the most committed and sincere teacher I have ever run across.

Mr. Qudrat-ullah. Govt. Gordon College, Rawalpindi. 1991-1995.

I learnt more about character from him than Sociology. He showed that kindness and humbleness may be difficult attributes to possess but they are definitely worth it.

Mr. Bilal. Govt. Gordon College, Rawalpindi. 1991-1995.

He explained the whole idea of religion so pleasantly that it made it easy to be a good Muslim. He made us good believers with an open mind.

Mr. Khurshid. Govt. Gordon College, Rawalpindi. 1991-1995.

Best lessons about life were offered by him. He taught more about life than English literature. He made me think more and more about little things; ultimately paving the way for my writing activity.

Mr. Khawar. Govt. Gordon College, Rawalpindi. 1991-1995.

He taught Arabic and was the first teacher to whom I became the favorite student.

Mr. Bhatti. Govt. Gordon College, Rawalpindi. 1991-1995.

He ignited my interest in politics; with his simple ideas he made politics look like a noble profession, which I later on figured it wasn’t.

Mr. Yaseen. Govt. Gordon College, Rawalpindi. 1996.

During my first year of Masters in English Literature, he taught us poetry and drama but above all he inspired us with his impeccable accent.

Dr. Tahir Amin. Department of Int. Relations. QAU. Islamabad. 1997-1999.

My first ever lecture at a university and he started it off by saying, “Politics is amoral.” I learnt a lot from him.

Dr. Riffat Hussain. Department of Int. Relations. QAU. Islamabad. 1997-1999.

His knowledge and analytical skills are enviable. I believed even in his assumptions. He made me realize that opting for this degree was worth it.

Mr. Imran Hameed. Department of Int. Relations. QAU. Islamabad. 1997-1999.

Gem of a person. Extremely intelligent; his lectures were absolutely thrilling. He would relive the moments from history and I would travel along. He is the reason for my interest in political history.

Mrs. Ruth Whitefield. University of Bradford. Yorkshire. UK 2000.

Ever smiling face; she opened the doors to the world of website designing for me. Even today whenever I start working on a design I thank her in my heart.

A. Kazmi. Islamabad. 2001 to present.

She isn’t my formal teacher but she did teach me. I spent hours bugging her and learning Photoshop side by side and she taught me without a hint of irritation on her face. Whatever I design is a humble gesture of appreciation to her skills.

~ by Amir Saleem on May 4, 2005.

3 Responses to “TEACHERS APPRECIATION DAY”

  1. Its nice to see some one actually listing down ..the best teachers and thanking them, how ever i think there are so many “teachers” in our lives whom we dont identify with the title of teachers, such as parents , family, friends, and PEOPLE…i am sure you agree

  2. I absolutely agree 🙂

  3. yeah you are absolutely right i also read in gordon college and i like all teachers specially bhatti sir he is noble man and sir fatheh he teaches urdu for intermediate classes i did not find any best teacher in my whole student life like him he is great v great

Leave a comment